Short Visit to Whitehall Garden Centre, Lacock

Do you know those irritating people who take pictures of the food they’re eating in restaurants and and then share them all over Instagram?

I’ve found something far more obnoxious than that.

Taking photos when you visit garden centres!

header-standard

Yesterday I had a surprise trip to Whitehall Garden Centre near Lacock. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this place before – and undoubtedly will again! However, the lady who started it and ran it – Dame Phyllis Self – only passed away last October at the age of 105. She worked right up until the age of 103.

Phyllis Self pictured with her grandsons Peter, left, and Mark and her son Christopher in 2007. Photo via Gazette & Herald
Phyllis Self pictured with her grandsons Peter, left, and Mark and her son Christopher in 2007. Photo via Gazette & Herald

I was starting to get a few funny looks from the staff as I kept on stopping, whipping my phone out and snapping away. And my other half was getting a bit sick of it too …

Apart from the amazing purple aquilegia above, there was the most wonderfully coloured lupin, and some huge flowers on the Trollius chinensis ‘Golden Queen’ (I do have one of these in the garden here, but I don’t think it’ll have fist-sized flowers like this one!)

And despite my best intention, I neglected to take down the name of this beautiful dainty little gem. If you know, then do pass it on to me!

2014-05-01 16.18.38

10 thoughts on “Short Visit to Whitehall Garden Centre, Lacock”

    1. No – its a little plant. Almost some type of alpine. Not a saxifrage though. (Saying that – the next time I go I’ll look and it’ll be “Saxifraga saxifragus” or something!)

      Like

    1. She was a pretty amazing lady! Well worth the Honour she received from the Queen. She made a habit of employing a lot of ‘unemployable’ young people and gave them a bit of respect as well as skills and experience.

      Like

Leave a Reply

