Bedding Plants

From my kitchen window this morning I can see that at least one of my giant red poppies has flowered over night. I’m not going to take a photo of it as its raining. Which also means that it won’t be flowering for long – perhaps tomorrow will be better, both for photography and for the poppy. Rain and poppies don’t seem to go together very well …

My white and yellow irises have also begun to flower, and out of all the colours that I have, I think these are my all-time favourite!

One of my favourite #iris is in #flower! #white #yellow #mygarden #wiltshire #gardening #garden

A post shared by Dom Murray (@trentonpeapod) on

I can also see that the white cosmos that I put in pots seem to be doing well and have grown quite nicely in the last week or so.

But more excitingly (well … you know …) I actually managed to buy my bedding plants – albeit a fairly small selection!

8 x Lobelia erinus Paper Moon

6 x Lobularia maritima

Yes, all white.

I grew the Lobularia last year and they performed brilliantly – even fighting off the ravenous hordes of Small White (Pieris rapae) caterpillars …

Lobularia, June 2013
Lobularia, June 2013

The edge of the blue and white border last year looked pretty good, with the Lobularia overlaid with the bright zingy blue of last year’s Lysimachia monelli syn. Anagallis monelli ‘Skylover’ (Blue pimpernel). I was hoping, given the mild winter, that the pimpernel would survive into this year, but sadly this wasn’t the case.

July, 2013
July, 2013

I mentioned before (I think …) that I usually fill my pots with white and/or red geraniums pelargoniums because I like their intense colour and their long flowering season. This year these have been eschewed for the cosmos, as I know I’ve mentioned, but I had two little Lobularia left so I have put them into some of the awesome clay pots I’ve accumulated.

#flower #white #alyssum #vintage #pot #garden #gardening #mygarden #wiltshire

A post shared by Dom Murray (@trentonpeapod) on

One type of bedding plant that I’ve never been able to grow here is marigolds. Neither the pot/English marigold Calendula officinalis, nor the French marigold Tagetes patula. The smell of Tagetes instantly transports me to any one of my mother’s past vegetable gardens as she always grows them – partly because she loves them, partly because its believed that they keep whitefly from infecting tomatoes. However, my inability to have them in my garden is nothing to do with my memory associations, but something more prosaic: slugs and snails.

It doesn’t matter how many pellets I put down (don’t start with me …), how large they are when they’re planted, what plants or other material I have around them, or even if I put them in pots – they get eaten to stumps. I think the record is two nights. That’s the longest the little gastropod gobblers have taken to eat them all.

But I refuse to be brought down … On Monday the other half and I are off for two weeks to my parents house in France. I went last year around this time for a week and it rained almost every day. Hopefully this trip will be slightly more sunny …

Scarce Swallowtail (Iphiclides podalirius) on catmint
Scarce Swallowtail (Iphiclides podalirius) on catmint
2 thoughts on “Bedding Plants”

  1. Your yellow iris is lovely – great photo too. I too like blue and white bedding plants and usually go for lobelia especially the blue ones with a white eye. I am trying cosmos for the first time this year having admired it in other gardens last year. I bought some pink and am waiting for the garden centre to get some white in on Friday. I too have given up on the marigolds for the same reason – shame they are so lovely and bright. Aren’t you lucky to have such a wonderful butterfly – we hardly get any up here despite growing all the right flowers. Oh well there are always other people’s pictures to look at.

    Like

    1. Thanks – they came from my mum (like about 85% of my plants!). I do love the vibrant lemon of them!

      After I’d bought the lobelia, I thought about seeing if I could swap them for some blue as that would’ve made a nice mix with the Lobularia, but never mind. I’m happy with the all-white!

      I have to say that the swallowtail was actually from my mum’s garden in France! Here we get the normal butterflies in the garden – peacock, tortoiseshell, cabbage whites (bah!) and some of the small blue skippers – but nothing quite so exotic. I’ve definitely seen a decrease in butterfly numbers in recent years. Sad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

