Getting Back To It

There’s no getting away from the fact.

2014-07-05 12.38.26

My garden has been neglected over the past 4 weeks. First by a fortnight’s holiday, then a week of iffy weather and me having interviews and sorting a new job, and finally the first week of said job. Yesterday was my first proper examination of the garden and how its fairing.

2014-07-05 12.33.01

And I apologised to it.

2014-07-05 12.31.02

I went around muttering soothing comments and begging forgiveness under my breath (partly because I do this anyway, but partly so the neighbours don’t think I’m a total lunatic ). Pretty sure I’m not the only one to do this.

2014-07-05 12.33.13

The lawn needs a mow – not that the grass is long, but I think the clover, daisy and other ‘weeds’ need a topping off. Which is a shame as this afternoon in the sunshine the clover flowers abounded with the buzzing hum of different bees and other nectar-guzzling insects. I feel slightly cruel cutting off their nutrient fix.

My courgettes don’t look particularly happy, I have to say. The other bits and pieces (cosmos, evening primrose, sunflowers) planted in the same bed seem to be quite happy growing in the horse-manure-enriched ground, though. Funny that.

2014-07-05 12.40.25

But in other news, my mallow (Lavatera thuringiaca ‘Baby Barnsley’) is flowering nicely.

2014-07-05 12.34.42 2014-07-05 12.34.58And – somewhat surprisingly – my astilbe seems to be bearing up this summer rather better than last year. Perhaps because its been fairly damp …

2014-07-05 12.46.22I have now decided that this autumn I will be having a revamp of the beds and borders in order to make next year much more pleasing!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

