Operation: Save Philip

Last December I decided that it was time Philip*, my Echiveria, needed some attention. He was ‘reaching’ and generally looked … well, not good at all …

Its taken me until now to do anything about it, although I bought some cactus mix several months ago. But today, enough was enough. Poor, crook-backed Philip got the chop …

2014-08-03 12.31.11

I made two cuts – first of all an inch or two above dirt level and again a few inches below the crown (basically where the stem starts to curve at the top!) – which gave me two pieces to save and the middle piece of stem which was planned to be discarded.

The ‘stump’ got repotted and I also sliced a little into the top, dividing it in half. Hopefully, this should force the plant to make two brand new shoots.

I stripped a lot of leaves from the crown – finding as I did so two little buds coming from one of the leaves – and potted up the crown. The leaves I stripped off have been lightly pressed into the potting matrix in a couple of pots.

2014-08-03 13.33.18

As Echiveria are pretty hardy little plants, I’m hoping that at least some of them will take. If they do then I’m going to have to get a whole lot more pots …

2014-08-03 13.33.00

I’ll keep you posted as to their progress!

 

*I have this habit of naming things … I have two spiders in my house – one called Miss Claudine and one called Roberta. I have a painting of a bull on my wall and called him Brian. And who could forget Clive and Ray?

#Clive the #Easter #ceratosaurus #dinosaur #lunacy

A post shared by Dom Murray (@trentonpeapod) on

 

Leave a Reply

