The Merest Whiff of Autumn = BULBS

Those of you with a nervous disposition will be pleased to hear that the Great Autumn Reshuffle has not yet commenced here at AWG … it may do this weekend – it all depends on the Japanese anemone plant that seems to be flowering fairly nicely at the moment (going by the old adage of “DON’T TOUCH IT, DON’T TOUCH IT” espoused by my mum).

There is one thing about this time of year that I do particularly love – the arrival of the bulbs. Yes. I’ve said it before (alright, several times), I love spring bulbs. The Iris reticulata were a mixed bag this Spring – the ones that flowered looked great, but I had a few no-shows and a few that managed to make leaf but didn’t bud – and the Chionodoxa and Eranthis (Winter Aconite to you and me) looked good. But they were all a bit … sparse …

Consequently, the plan was to bulk up on these little lovelies and merrily plug away with more, more, MORE! Ahem. I’d been looking around online and found a few places that sold bulbs (including eBay and Amazon, as well as nurseries and garden centres). At one point I recognised my own naughtiness when I’d racked up a £50 online shopping basket. Luckily I pressed cancel instead of BUY NOW, but it was still a bit of a … niggle. This morning, when engaging in a bit of light shopping in Devizes (I have a few days off work and we had to go to pick up something from the amazing framing man) I visited the plant people in the market. I was ogling their bulbs (steady …) and saw that their prices were pretty damn good.

After a while I bought the following:

10 x Tulip Blue Parrot

20 x Iris reticulata

20 x Allium moly

10 x Chionodoxa

5 x Allium nigrum

And the price? The princely sum of £9.75. Yes. My online calculator says that’s about US$15 or AU$17 or EUR12. Is that a good price for 65 bulbs where you are? You’ll have to let me know.

I’m not done with the bulbs altogether, mind. I’d like to get more of the little Eranthis and maybe some more, and different, types of tulip. Some of them, however, will no doubt be purchased from online outlets.

2014-09-11 18.54.13

Leave a Reply

